Expert committee

The winner of the International Children’s Peace Prize is selected by the independent Expert Committee for the International Children’s Peace Prize, which comprises of international children’s rights experts:


JerooMs. Jeroo Billimoria
Serial social entrepreneur and founder of several international NGOs. Ms. Billimoria’s recent initiatives include Childline India Foundation, Child Helpline International, Aflatoun and Child and Youth Finance International.





BenyamMr. Benyam Dawit Mezmur
Member of the UN Committee on the Rights of the Child. Associate Professor of Law, University of the Western Cape, South Africa and lecture/supervise on an ad hoc basis at Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia. He also is Project Head Children’s Rights Project of the Dullah Omar Institute for Constitutional Law, Governance and Human Rights. 




MarcMr. Marc Dullaert
Mr. Dullaert is the founder and chair of the KidsRights Foundation and founder of the International Children’s Peace Prize. Mr. Dullaert was the first Ombudsman for children in the Netherlands and was president of ENOC representing ombudspersons and commissioners for children from 33 European countries. He serves as the Chairman of the Expert Committee. 




Jo BeckerMs. Jo Becker
Advocacy Director Human Rights Watch, Children's Rights Division. Ms. Becker is the founding chairperson of the international Coalition to Stop the Use of Child Soldiers. She has conducted field investigations on children’s rights in several countries and has written several Human Rights Watch reports and opinion articles, and published two books. She also teaches human rights advocacy at Columbia University.





NevenaMs. Nevena Vuckovic-Sahovic
Member and General Rapporteur of the Committee on the Rights of the Child (2003-2009). Ms. Vuckovic-Sahovic is a full time professor at the Law Faculty, UNION University in Belgrade, Serbia, teaching International Public Law, and Family Law with Rights of the Child.