The organization KidsRights

History

KidsRights was founded in 2003 by Marc Dullaert to work with children to create a world in which their rights are guaranteed and they are enabled to realize their great potential. Since then KidsRights provides grass root support to vulnerable children and gives them a voice. KidsRights gives them a platform to share their ideals with an international audience. The embodiment of this platform, the International Children’s Peace Prize was awarded for the first time in 2005. Since then the prize is annually awarded to a courageous child who has made an exceptional difference for the rights of the child by a Nobel Peace Laureate. 

KidsRights is a sound and efficient organization with impact. “KidsRights needs to resemble a small fleet of rowing boats and not a large and cumbersome vessel.” 

In the meantime KidsRights has become an international renowned children’s rights organization and an authority on child participation. Marc Dullaert: “The winners of the Children’s Peace Prize show that children are so much more than passive recipients of aid, they can bring actual change. Children are changemakers and move the world!”

 

The KidsRights Board 

The board of the KidsRights Foundation ensures that the purpose of the foundation will be pursued as far as possible and that the funds are managed properly. The board consists of a special group of people who are actively involved through their compassion for KidsRights. 
The board of KidsRights consists of seven members:
 

  • Marc Dullaert (Chairman)
  • Scipio van der Stoel (Secretary)
  • Hans Geels
  • Jacqueline Ruepert
  • Cindy de Visser

 

  • Alexander Kohnstamm (Honorary Board member) 
  • Roland van der Hoek (Honorary Board member)


The KidsRights Team

The KidsRights team, located in Amsterdam, consists of:

Marijke van Liemt - Manager Operations
marijke@kidsrights.org

Ellen Vroonhof - Program Manager
ellen@kidsrights.org

Laura Lasance - Child Participation and Advocacy Manager
laura@kidsrights.org

Karin Rozema - Programm Officer
karin@kidsrights.org

Yuri von Raesfeld - Donor Administration and Office Management
info@kidsrights.org

Aimée Vegter - van Ahee - Director Corporate Accounts
aimee@kidsrights.org

Chrissie van Heijningen - Communications Officer
chrissie@kidsrights.org

Finance Administrator (externally contracted)
finance@kidsrights.org